16 Years of Publishing Magic: 301.530.4732

THE SECRET AT HANEY FIELD



Meet the Author
author-headshot

Price : $9.95 (Paperback), $4.99 (eBook, iBook)

Synopsis

What do you get when you mix two baseball buffs with a minor league team and a major league adventure? A grand-slam summer!

Author R. M. Clark’s new novel is a baseball-centered middle-grade mystery, featuring spunky twelve-year-old protagonist April O’Day. As the daughter of a former minor-leaguer, she really knows baseball. And when she wins the opportunity to be a bat retriever for one week with her hometown’s minor league team, she proves it, transforming her seven-day dream job into a summer-long adventure of runs, hits, errors . . . and a mystery to solve.

Baseball-playing shadows are on the field, which only she, her best friend Darren, and the team’s owner, Mr. Haney, can see. And when April finds one of their shadow balls in the stands, the three are able to witness a 1940s Negro Leagues game.

Who are these players—especially the one they call Flash, a lightning-fast base runner? And why are they at Haney Field? Can Marcus “Mayhem” Mayfield, a veteran of the Negro Leagues as well as the majors, help them solve this mystery?
 And as facts come into focus, will Mr. Haney try to keep an event from the 1960s hidden under the grandstands?


Reviews

“A well-written Disney-like story. . . . The characters are well-drawn and likable, and Clark obviously knows baseball. . . . It’s “A Home Run. . .”
—KIRKUS REVIEWS

“An inviting read. The discoveries and the reflections of this feisty protagonist, who loves the sport and whose curiosity leads her to investigate the Negro Leagues, baseball history, and even issues of discrimination, are what make this story so enjoyable.”
—DIANE DONOVAN, MIDWEST BOOK REVIEW

“As deeply moving as Field of Dreams . . . ”
—BIL HOWARD, READERS’ FAVORITE

“The mystery weaves American history around a baseball-themed story to create an intriguing page-turning case. Fans of The Prince of Fenway Park and Dan Gutman’s Baseball Card Series will definitely want to read this book.”
—GET KIDS TO READ

“April is a likeable and engaging heroine and Darren is good comic relief. The writing is clear and fluid, the dialogue smooth and realistic, and the baseball know-how is very interesting!”
—JULIA HOPKINSON, READERS’ FAVORITE

“The main character, April, is a young girl with spunk. She’s not only interested in baseball, she knows it inside and out. It was fun to watch her help the players out with things even the coach didn’t know. (Kids will love that!)”
— TONJA DRECKER, GOODREADS, 5/5 stars

“What’s also awesome about this book is that it’s not only about perseverance (again, a popular theme), but also honor, racism, and friendship. . . . April is an engaging, quick-witted, very likeable character who stumbles into what turns out to be an equally engaging mystery. . . . A quick, enjoyable read, this novel is highly recommended.”
—APRIL HANKS, GOODREADS

“R.M. Clark’s baseball mystery . . . will royally entertain baseball fans of all ages
. . . . This book is great fun and highly recommended.”
—JACK MAGNUS, READERS’ FAVORITE

“The mystery weaves American history around a baseball-themed story to create an intriguing page-turning case. Fans of ‘The Prince of Fenway Park’ and Dan Gutman’s ‘Baseball Card’ Series will definitely want to read this book.”
—PAT TIERNEY, GET KIDS TO READ


Awards

Book Details
Pages : 134 pages
Age Range : 8-12
Publication Date : September 9, 2014
Size : 5.25 x 8 inches
ISBNs : Paperback: 978-0-9913646-2-6, Epub: 978-0-9913646-3-3, mobi: 978-0-9913646-4-0


Similar Books